I don’t Like ____ Church or Pastor____

I have at least one huge soap box, and if you catch me in the right moment you’ll find out what it is. As a follower of Christ, and one who was uniquely designed with a critical/detailed eye, I often found myself analyzing churches, sermons, pastoral leadership, etc. Typically I would walk out of a church service with a litany of things I would do differently; or would engage other believers in “discussions” about how a church is not doing _______. One day I got the God-smack when reading 1 Corinthians. After discussing divisions within the church; Paul argues it is the foolishness of preaching that saves souls.

Since then I’ve been on a crusade: I can’t stand to hear people, especially those claiming to follow Christ bad mouth a Church or a Pastor. Saying “I love Jesus” but hating the church is as irrational as saying to your best friend, “I like you–I just can’t stand being around you.” Ones attitude toward the church tells you–simply–their attitude toward Jesus.

Leave a Reply

