Lessons from the field Part 3

Waypoint has just completed our 8th week and I thought I’d share a little on the lessons I’m learning:

 

3. Have realistic expectations–I read this report from Ed Stetzer as soon as it came out and have had almost 2 full years to think through it, yet this seems to be one of the biggest challenges I face. I think it has something to do with #1. Waypoint has fared better than the average church plant according to this study, and we are in a saturated housing area with an unusual minimal church presence (weird for the south). So I struggle to maintain realistic expectations. I struggle to remember that we are only 8 weeks old. I’m not sure how to overcome this yet! But what I’ve learned through this is the importance of mentoring and coaching. I have several other church planters in my life who are just a few years ahead of me…like this guy, and this one too. They help keep things in perspective for me and set realistic goals. They call me-I call them; and we share life! I do believee “you have not because you ask not” I just make sure my asking is realistic!

 

Check back tomorrow for #4

Leave a Reply

