Being vs. Doing part 1

I’m deciding to break this into two parts. First, we will look at the individual, then the church.

I first saw this in Atlanta where the senior management of the company I worked for began having problems getting commitment from the “younger generation.” It boiled down to a shift in thinking, some worked because work was life, others worked to provide life outside of work.

Some individuals (men especially) gain their identity from what they do. The question, “what do you do?” is always answered with a be verb, “I am a…” I find this interesting, especially as I watch people become what they do instead of becoming who they are.

Humor me: God created human beings not human doings!

The essence of imago dei challenges our understanding of humanity. If God created me, I must have a unique purpose in this world, not because I’m doing something that gives purpose; simply existing brings purpose.

Doing is driven by thinking and personality; being is fueled from the heart and soul. I’m not the first to say it, but the longest journey in life is the one from your head to your soul. Understanding who you are opens the most satisfying and life-changing experience. It is an opportunity to explode into your infinite potential. Unfortunately, many of us go through life gaining our identity based on what we do, not who we were created to be.

And just in case you didn’t know: You were created by God to reflect His image to the world around you…that is missio imago dei.

One Response to “Being vs. Doing part 1”

  1. Jeff,

    Hey bro, what’s up? I read your blog and had a quick thought for you:

    I agree that being precedes doing, but how does one reflect the image of God to the world except by doing (cf. Psalm 8 [dominion], Matt 5:16, Col 3:23, Titus, James 2, etc.)? Exercising dominion over the earth, obeying God’s commands, worshiping, serving, evangelizing, etc. all seem to be different facets/expressions of the being that you are talking about. I realize I am probably applying your statements to a broader arena than you may have intended them. However, if we keep the order that being precedes doing as primary, can we still offer the corollary that doing is the natural consequence of being? Further, if we fail to bear these fruits, then it seems we are not who we say we are (i.e., our being is not a true reality).

    Hope all is well. Look forward to any thoughts you have on the above.

    Jonathan

Leave a Reply

