Religion: Please Comment

I’ve never asked for this just out right, but I really want you to use the comment function and tell me:

Why do you/don’t you go to a religious gathering (church)?

Leave your name or don’t…your choice. I’m more interested in the comments.

6 Responses to “Religion: Please Comment”

  1. You know, my answers can be found at http://www.createcognitivedissonance.wordpress.com – I hate to do that, but there’s just too many words. I promise you that the debate you’ll find there will be interesting.

    take care,

    Ben

  2. First of all, I LOVE the church I attend. The main reason why I love this church is because of the teaching of the word of God. I am continually amazed at the inexhaustible truth and comfort and direction and wisdom that comes into my heart as the word of God is taught from the pulpit.

    For example, we are currently studying the Song of Solomon. No, I am not kidding. We have been in this book for about a month now and are currently in about chapter 3 or so. When we began I was thinking that maybe my attendance might be a bit sparse for a few weeks until we get into a “good” book like John or Romans or etc.

    Not so. The practical application for marriage and relationships is exactly what we need to hear in this day where anything goes in relationships.

    Everything else in the church is the direct result of the continual teaching of the word of God. The quality of the child care, the worship, the home groups, and everything else is directly affected by the Holy Spirit’s work in building up all those who minister in those ministries by the continual teaching of God’s word.

    You might think that the church is dependant upon the personality of the pastor who teaches. However, he is not the original pastor and the same could be said of the church before he came. The two pastors are quite different in style but I am convinced that it is the gifting of the Spirit of God, not the personality of the pastor that equips the believers for the work of the ministry.

    And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; that we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting, but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head–Christ– from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love. [Eph 4:11-16]

    My faith is not dependant upon a certain ministry, however, I praise God for the gifts He has given to all who minister is this ministry.

  3. I am Eastern Orthodox and attend a Greek Orthodox church. I’m a convert to Orthodoxy, and from the very moment I stepped foot into an Orthodox church I realized I had found what was so lacking in the Protestant and Catholic churches I’d been to: worship.

    Protestant churches always seemed to focused on the human. Every sermon is about how we should be better, about how we should live sinless. Sure there were a couple of ‘worship’ songs sung, but there was no real worship of God.

    Catholic churches were a lot better, but they still seemed to me to be a little too focused on humanity. The priest is now (after Vatican II) turned around to face the congregation, so it seems like the priest is offering the Mass for the people.

    Orthodoxy is completely different though. An Orthodox Divine Liturgy is a communication to God. Every hymn which is sung (and they sung all throughout, not just at the beginning) focuses soley on God. The priest is turned around, facing the same way as the congregation as he is leading the Liturgy and offering it on behalf of the people, not on the people’s behalf. There’s a constant sense of ‘oneness’ with the people who have gone before, saints and laity. We are surrounded by icons of the saints which remind us of their lives, and at different intervals after the death of the laity we hold memorial services for them specifically, sing at the end “May their memory be eternal.”

    I don’t really know how to describe into words the feels I get from the Orthodox Liturgy except that there is a feeling of awesomness, of solemnity, of actual worship with God, and of being in a place which stands between heaven and earth.

  4. Great keep them coming…especially liking the diversity of religious practices already responding. FYI: commenters interact at will, and check back next week for a similar but different question.

  5. I go to church for several reasons, but the main reason is because Christ died for the church. Paul writes, “Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.”
    (Ephesians 5:25-27 ESV)

    If the main point of Christ’s death was to redeem the church and set her apart for himself, I want to be a part of the church, devoting myself to Christ by devoting myself to His body and His bride.

    The church is the primary means through which God is accomplishing His divine mission in the world. Luke writes, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth” (Acts 1:8 ESV). I want to participate in that mission.

    Through the church God supports and chastens the believer to become more like Christ. I want to be like Christ; so I seek to actively give and willingly receive admonition and encouragement. Paul writes, “Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ” (Galatians 6:1-2 ESV). And in Hebrews we read, “Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original confidence firm to the end” (Hebrews 3:12-14 ESV).

    Recognizing Christ’s great love for His bride, God’s purpose and mission for the church, my own need of encouragement to be and become who He has called me to be, as well as the calling of every believer to lovingly encourage others toward the same goal, I choose to participate in the Christian church.

  6. I go to church for several reasons, but the main reason is because Christ died for the church. Paul writes, “Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.”
    (Ephesians 5:25-27 ESV)

    If the main point of Christ’s death was to redeem the church and set her apart for himself, I want to be a part of the church, devoting myself to Christ by devoting myself to His body and His bride.

    The church is the primary means through which God is accomplishing His divine mission in the world. Luke writes, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth” (Acts 1:8 ESV). I want to participate in that mission.

    Through the church God supports and chastens the believer to become more like Christ. I want to be like Christ; so I seek to actively give and willingly receive admonition and encouragement. Paul writes, “Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ” (Galatians 6:1-2 ESV). And in Hebrews we read, “Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original confidence firm to the end” (Hebrews 3:12-14 ESV).

    Recognizing Christ’s great love for His bride, God’s purpose and mission for the church, my own need of encouragement to be and become who He has called me to be, as well as the calling of every believer to lovingly encourage others toward the same goal, I choose to participate in the Christian church.

    Finally, God is glorious and holy. He is the rightful end of all things and worthy of all praise. “For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen” (Romans 11:36 ESV). God is deserving of worship for no other reason than His character alone. However, He has graciously accomplished salvation through His Son and by His Spirit in the lives of everyone who places their faith and trust in Christ. I choose to go to church, because it is a congregation that is devoted to the praise, honor, and glory of God through worship.

    These are some of my reasons. Nonetheless, I admit that I imperfectly remember and strive after these things. We are all still imperfect and in need of God’s continued sanctification in our lives. I go to church, not because I’m perfect, but because I’m not. I need God’s grace and help. Thankfully he offers this help to us in the hands and feet of His body and bride, the church.

Leave a Reply

