Yada-Yada

Last night was a replay of one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes (#153 The Yada Yada Yada) It got me thinking: sometimes when I’m having to sit and listen, I think they could have just yada yada that and we listeners wouldn’t have ever known. Sometimes I talk to much and I should have yada yada’d. A lot of times preachers say to much…enough said. I have even recently heard someone yada yada (well actually it was blah blah) when discussing salvation. Has Christianity gotten to a point where we’ve lost so much impact that we’ve yada yada the Gospel to the world? I believe a lot of the world thinks we have. Here’s my thoughts:

  • If our personal spiritual life only exist on Sundays or in corporate gatherings; then by all means skip past all the religious dialogue that mask our true self and yada yada our weekly religious experience. 
  • If the church isn’t impacting their community than we should yada yada the message their proclaiming. (Impacting can be defined by: does the community know care that you’re there, or might leave.) 
  • If a pastor/teacher/speaker stands week in-week from the pulpit declaring the life-changing power of Christ, but hasn’t yielded their own addictions to such power; than by all means yada yada whatever their declaring.
  • Further, if a pastor/teacher/speaker doesn’t declare the life-changing message of Jesus Christ than whatever their saying should be yada yada’d

That’s my short list: I’d love to hear some of your thoughts (click comment below) If the world thinks all the church has to offer is an indication of meaningless or uninteresting talk or chatter and I’m sure they’d appreciate it if we’d skip over all the “church junk” and get down to the real point. Phillipians 3:7-9

Leave a Reply

