The Road Not Taken (part 1)

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;         5
 
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

 –Robert Frost

 During a the summer of 06 I lead a mission group to Chicago. While working with the Salvation Army we formed some wonderful relationships. When leaving we got to ask some of the visitors their advice for the future of our lives. One said, “you’re only 1 paycheck away from being homeless” Wow! 

Who knew that upon returning from the mission trip that I’d find myself on a new journey; having been given only two more months with my current job due to it’s financial situation. Leslie and I left our ministry position not knowing what would be next. We stood at the edge of the woods wondering which road to take.

Not knowing where to step, I grab a job doing financial aid….again: just barly enough to make ends meet. Over the next year we prayed and sought direction. Each week, each meal, each bill brought new emotions into our life.

One Response to “The Road Not Taken (part 1)”

  1. […] and work in, sometimes you just do what you love regardless of the payday. FYI: last year prior to this, this and this, my blood pressure was consistently staying in the pre-hypertension areas. Today, […]

Leave a Reply

